Some books I just finished and would recommend….

25 04 2007

…..”Ambiguous Loss” by Pauline Boss. This book was recommended by a fellow blogger and I found it a very worthwhile read. The book is very appropriate for anyone wishing to understand losses like those associated with adoption. Basically the book goes into the issues surrounding losses that aren’t really recognized by society and that do not yet have a finality to them. This really places additional burden on those experiencing the ambiguous loss. The book goes into many applicable situations that can apply, not just adoption. I actually found many personally useful examples in the book.

I’m almost done with “An Inconvenient Truth” by Al Gore. This book should be read by every American. It’s very very readable…..no heavy text, but lots of very pertinent examples of how global warming is affecting our planet.

Hmmmmm….I have to check my bookshelf. I think I’m forgetting one.

I also started a collection of short stories by an author I’ve never read before. I don’t know how I stumbled upon this collection (probably just browsing at Amazon). The book is “The Cemetery of Chua Village” and it’s by the Vietnamese author Doan Le.

Actions

Information

One response

31 05 2007
thoughtful1

Thank you for mentioning Ambiguous Loss. All the books on loss and grieving that I’ve seen address more obvious losses such as death. I’ll check it out on Amazon and see if I can borrow it from the library.

Leave a Reply

