Now is the time of year…..

21 11 2006

….when I start thinking about the Yule/Christmas presents I will buy for myself. We have already bought E’s presents and are starting to wrap them. I know what I am getting for CV. We are going to pick something for A to hold onto for him for when he comes to us.

Usually I buy myself some beautiful new cookbooks (from CV). This year, I’m thinking of a change. I consider myself a student of the religions of the world and recently I was thinking about some of the religions and spiritual paths out there that I know very little about. I’ve put a few books into my Amazon shopping cart that I think I will make my Yule/Christmas gift from CV.  If anyone out there has read any of them, or knows of an alternative, I would love to get some feedback.

Here are some of the books I’ve chosen:

The Sikhs
Jainism and the New Spirituality
Islam: A Mosaic, Not a Monolith
The Essentials of Hinduism: A Comprehensive Overview of the World’s Oldest Religion
Kabbalah of Prayer: Sacred Sounds and the Soul’s Journey
 

Living Judaism: The Complete Guide to Jewish Belief, Tradition, and Practice
Actions

Information

2 responses

22 11 2006
Margie

Good reading! I enjoy reading about different religions, too, all of these look interesting to me.

I hope you can spend some time tomorrow curled up with a good book. Happy Thanksgiving!

25 11 2006
Margaret

Hope you enjoyed your TG as well. I went ahead and purchased these books….not sure which one I’ll jump into first.

Leave a Reply

