We are still busy bees in The Voyage household….

24 09 2006

…we wrapped up our homestudy today and are continuing to make progress on our dossier. But, we are still a long way from done. And, we still have a fairly long wait ahead of us.

In the meantime, I’ve been doing some reading. I recently read Thich Nhat Hanh’s “Anger”, which I enjoyed and found useful reading. I am going to take several of his pieces of advice to heart for dealing with anger and for leading a healthier life, in general. It’s a book I’ll pick up again for advice, I’m sure.

I also started reading another book called “Buddhism for Mothers” by Sarah Napthali. Again, I think this book is filled with wonderful bits of advice for interacting with your children in a more meaningful way. I like her approach.

Neither book, though, really teaches all that much about Buddhism. I went to a bunch of Yahoo groups and signed up, hoping to learn more about the subject. There are a few more books I’d like to read….or re-read that I think will be helpful. My concern is that there’s probably a lot of fluff out there. I want more of the real thing. I’m not looking so much for a religion necessarily, but for changing our family way of life. We still have yet to visit the monastery up in Carmel, NY, but it is certainly still on our agenda.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

